TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
Updated June 06, 2014
Share on Facebook
The 2014 Robson Summer Dartfest lived up to expectations from the pre-event series of teasers and come-ons which centered on “cool, spacious, fun, friends, family, inspiring, challenging, and world class”.

The Robson Summer Dartfest, organized by the National Darts Federation of the Philippines (NDFP), was held from May 30 to June 1, 2014 at the Sta. Lucia Mall, sponsored by Chris Sports, Alfonso I Light, San Miguel Beer, Coca-Cola, Grip-X, and Food Island.

The “cool and spacious” Sta Lucia activity area accommodated the 32 dartboard stands complete with an elevated toe-line, lightning and matting. The running of the tournament was technology-driven with the aid of two (2) computers and printers making possible the smooth tournament directorship of multiple events. The nationwide darters responded to the “world class” setting with an all time high of over a thousand player registration in all events coming from the 517 players who participated.

Federation Cup ( Click here for Complete Results )
The launching of the 1st NDFP Federation Cup was one of the highlights of the Robson Summer Dartfest. To be the first Federation Cup Champion is history to be made - playing and winning with the top 32 ranked players is a true test of a champion.

In the two (2) stages and group round robin eliminations leading to the knockout top eight (8) final round, Ian Perez showed his determination as the only player to win all six (6) matches and did not lose a single match. Going to the finals of the Federation Cup, Ian Perez shut out Noel Malicdem in the top 8 and Long Longyapon in the top 4 with an identical 4-0 win. Bong Gabiana, of Robson-Bukidnon played decision matches leading to the finals with a 4-3 win over Toto Andrade in the top 8 and 4-3 win over Lourence Ilagan in the top 4. It was a heartbreaking loss for Ilagan who missed 3 winning darts.

The Championship for the 1st NDFP Federation Cup was a hard fought match which could have gone either way. The match was tied 3-3 and the pressure was on. In the end, experience, determination, and the will to win prevailed and Christian “The Titan” Perez is the 1st NDFP Federation Cup Champion.

Classified Draw Doubles

The tournament opened with 196 participants or 98 pairs for the Classified Draw Doubles.  The tandem of Lourence Ilagan and SAMDA’s Romy Razo ran away with the championship title in a decision game versus the pair-up of Jay Doria of Dominic’s and Renz Villafuerte of Villa Veranda.  Rounding up the Joint 3rd and 4th spot are Glenn Casulla (Darterong Albayano) & Marvin Aratea (E Darts), and Melvin Kent Pelona (MCDC) & Kelly Santos (4D).

Four-Person Team
On the second day, an underdog team prevailed in the Four-Person Team participated by 42 teams. Team Dominic of PJ Hugo, Buddy Mesias, Pipo Garcia and Jerry Salenga over-powered the 4D team of Boy Gionzon, Alexis Toylo, Boy Ulang and Nayr Ocampo with the score of 4-0. Sharing the Joint 3rd and 4th places are Team Stinger, composed of Toks Seduco, Francis, Eguia, Jasper Natividad, and Tata Paglinawan; and Team Tres Marias-Barries of Eddie Barsubia, Al Dadole, Vince De Velos, and Mark Canapi.

Ladies Singles
Meanwhile, Jenika Eusebio of Datadarts bested 26 other players to the Ladies Singles title, beating Nancy Decanan of Baguio City in the finals.  Mary Anne Santos of Taytay and Nancy Dela Cruz of MCDA finished at joint 3rd and 4th place.

Seniors Singles
Cavite’s Ed Almasco, the Joint 3rd placer last year, hanged on to win a decision match over Dan Cardeno of NFA for his 1st Seniors Singles title. Completing the top 4 from 62 registered players are Noel Pabello of Tres Marias and Rey Santos of Marikina.

Classified Draw Triples
The triple tandem of PJ Jugo (Dominic’s), Rico Reyes (D’Gunner), and Totong Rodella (Angono) capped Saturday night with the Classified Draw Triples title win over Gale Santos (Robson), Mark Canapi (Barries Restobar), and Cocoy Mauricio (Mosant), 4-2 in the finals. Draw teams of Dennis Quirong (Tres Marias), Cris Samson (Pasay), & Rodolfo Tecson Jr. (Quezon City), and Vince De Velos (Tres Marias), Cyril Batawig (Baguio), & Lloyd Londonio (Unified Darters of Laguna) settled for joint 3rd and 4th spot.  A total of 132 participants (44 teams) registered for the event.

Youth Singles
105 young dart enthusiasts joined the free registration Youth Singles, the biggest so far in the history of the Robson Summer Dartfest.  Batang Pier John Paul Almazan topped the list, defeating Pasay darter Marwin Beldoa 3-1 in the best of five championships.  CJ Nicolas of Marikina and Aldrian Patrick Dumaplin of Pasay completed the top 4 of this event.

Fixed Doubles
Another highly anticipated event, the Fixed Doubles gathered a total of 81 pairs.  Team Dominic’s dominated the event taking two slots at Joint 5th-8th place and the championship crown with Prussian Arceño and Andy Villamor at the helm. They defeated Team Robson’s Noel Malicdem and Ricky Mijares, 4-1.  Tres Marias grabbed two winning slots, courtesy of Dennis Quirong and Bruce Perez for Joint 5th-8th, and Eddie Barsubia with Vince De Velos at Joint 3rd-4th together with Team Spika’s Joseph Domanais and Ryan Condat.  Sam Cadiente and Jun Agustin of UDAP completed the Joint 5th-8th slots.

Open Singles
Closing the Summer Dartfest is the most awaited Open Singles event that surprisingly drew 169 participants. Recovering from a heart breaking lost in the semi-finals of the Federation Cup, Lourence “The Gunner” Ilagan stamped his world-class prowess and dominated the Open Singles with a 4-1 win over Toto Andrade in the finals. Joint 3rd and 4th were Boy Ulang and Willi Omli and Joint 5th-8th were Ian Perez, Prussian Arceño, Roy Agustin, and Andy Villamor.  The Open Singles opened the gateway to accumulate the needed NDFP ranking points for the Chris Sports Darter of the Year.

Complete results of the Robson P200,000 Summer Dartfest and Federation Cup are viewable at this link.  Photos of from the tournament are also available through the NDFP Facebook Page.

NDFP Araw ng Parangal
One of the highlights of the Robson Summer Dartfest was the Araw ng Parangal, held Sunday afternoon, that formally inducted Bukidnon’s pride, Andy Lou Villamor into the elite NDFP National Masters.  Villamor won three (3) NDFP national ranking events or NDFP sanctioned tournaments worth P100,000 and over, since 2005; to wit: Kadayawan sa Dabaw 2010, 76th Araw ng Dabaw 2013, and the recently concluded Bicol Dart Challenge VIII.  Also given recognition as NDFP Regional Master is Arturo ‘Longlong’ Longyapon of Davao, who has won three (3) NDFP regional ranking events or NDFP sanctioned tournaments worth less than P100,000, since 2005. 

NDFP Affiliation Form