TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
Updated June 09, 2014
Share on Facebook
The National Darts Federation of the Philippines (NDFP) would like to express its grateful appreciation to the overwhelming support of the darting community – the players, the managers, the local dart associations, and the local government units in the recently concluded Robson Summer Dartfest.  The player registration was beyond our expectation.

We strived to set the standards of dart excellence, provided the best we can offer, and utilized the technology available. We take pride among others in the computerization by the tournament directorship, in having an elevated toe-line, professional stage backdrop, and negotiating for the least expensive venue prices – P30.00 for the price of beer.

We launched the Federation Cup to recognize the top 32 NDFP ranked players and to provide a platform for a higher level of competition among the best players. The Federation Cuppers came mentally and technically prepared and when a higher level of professional behavior was demanded, they responded accordingly. We thank the maturing attitude of our top players. I hope that the example the cuppers showed become an enduring model for the dart community to follow. Additional cash prize for the 5th-8th placers were given out by the NDFP in appreciation to the professionalism and efforts given by the Cuppers.

We congratulate Christian “The Titan” Perez for winning the first NDFP Federation Cup and only player to go through the elimination stage without losing a match. His passionate quest for the Federation Cup is almost fanatical; overwhelming his quarterfinals and semi-finals opponents with identical 4-0 shut-out wins. His mission is to add another “first”, after being the first Darterong Pinoy Champion, first Pinoy to win a match in PDC world championship, and to be the first Federation Cup Champion.Ian went through a rigorous physical regimen to build his playing stamina and his sacrifice paid off.

The Federation Cup will continue in 2015. All top 32 ranked players by December of 2014 will be invited. The Federation Cup has ignited a burning desire among competitive players not only to be part of this elite group of darters but to strive to be the best. Please note that the Federation Cup is based on the NDFP ranking with rolling 2 years whereas the Darter of the Year is based on points earned only in 2014.

The race for the Chris Sports Darter of the Year is heating up. The Robson Summer Dartfest is one of the tournaments with the most ranking points having 169 players and P200,000 cash prize.   Lourence ‘The Gunner” Ilagan won the Open Singles earning 72 ranking points and moving him to the 4th spot with 82 points total. Herein is the current ranking after 5 ranking tournaments: 1. Andy Villamor 96 pts, 2. Toto Andrade 90 pts, 3. Christian Perez 86 pts, 4. Lourence Ilagan 82 pts, 5. Boy Chucas 66 pts, 6. Alexis Toylo 60 pts.

There are nine (9) scheduled Ranking tournaments at this time up to October with close to a million in cash prizes. There are more ranking tournaments being planned and endorsed for local funding. No lead is insurmountable. It is still early to project a winner. Book makers are still calculating the odds. We will continuously upload in the NDFP website the ranking tournaments as they are finalized with a flyer.

This coming weekend of June 14, 2014, there are three regional NDFP ranking tournaments – P80,000 Pagadian Open, P50,000 Araw ng Cotabato, and the P50,000 Naliyagan Festival of Agusan del Sur. In these instances, the support of the Local Government Units for the dart tournament is part of the local festivities and should be undertaken on the festival dates in order not to lose the funding.

Other June ranking tournaments are The P130,000 Daet on the Go – Pinyasan Festival and the P100,000 Governor Mercado Cup in Maasin, Southern Leyte.

We are happy to note that the NDFP affiliated local dart organizations are more enthused to organize the NDFP ranking tournaments with its contribution to the outcome of the Darter of the Year and the Federation Cup invitees. And we thank the continuing support of the affiliated local dart organizations in creating a viable infrastructure to sharpen our competitive players.

As events unfold and new updates are made – STAY CONNECTED on-line to the NDFP Facebook page.  Join and like us on our fan page www.facebook.com/ndfpdarts . Like our page and get everybody connected as we will keep you updated. Visit our web site www.ndfpdarts.com for more thorough dart information.

NDFP Affiliation Form