TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines


Updated October 28, 2016
The National Darts Federation of the Philippines concluded another successful blockbuster edition of the free registration Darterong Pinoy – the biggest and most anticipated dart tournament in Metro Manila held from October 21 to 23, 2016 at the Sta. Lucia Mall.

With a milestone free-registration total cash prize of P200,000, this year’s Darterong Pinoy gathered a total registration of 2,588 dart players from all events.  The tournament continued to blaze the trail of innovation as it went full blast on integrating digital registration with two scanners for NDFP Cardholders, computerized random draw, and automated event bracketing that significantly accelerated the tournament’s proceedings.  Scores and averages were projected on a wide screen for public consumption, and social media was utilized to provide event updates and results.  Truly, the standard of Philippine dart tournaments was set higher.

On its 18th year, Darterong Pinoy has long established itself as the Mecca of Darters.  For three days, dart players from all over the Philippines converge to celebrate camaraderie and brotherhood built on Darterong Pinoy’s foundation that darts is “free for all”.  Through the years, the tournament has welcomed and embraced darters from the young and old, male and female, the hardcore and novice players. 

An Australian dart player, Stewart Burdett currently residing in the Philippines, aptly summed up the 2016 Darterong Pinoy in his Facebook comment, “ What a brilliant day it was ..! Organized and run well”.  His concluding post after the tournament, Congratulations to all participants over the 3 days …... Also to the Organisers who considering the numbers did one hell of a good job.  Also thank you to all the sponsors, hopefully you will be back again next year”.

Despite the record turnout of participants, events did last till the wee hours of the morning. Our heartfelt appreciation to the NDFP Tournament directors led by Rommel Escobil, Marvin Orlina, Rey Santos, and computer wizard Ryan Suarez. The successful tournament would have not been possible without the support of our Corporate Partners: Robson Sportscraft, Chris Sports, Alfonso I Light, and Food Island.

Singles Events
Noel Malicdem of Robson-Pasig earned his 2nd Darterong Pinoy Open Singles Champion title among 418 registered event participants.  He defeated Val Capuyan of Highland Darters in the finals.  Jorge Mediaro of T’Kosa and Ian Perez of Robson-Koronadal complete the Top 4.

The Females Singles saw formidable action after Waka Mendoza of CDL-Baguio defeated crowd favorite Angie Detablan of Team One Philippines in a close decision game to win the championship title.  Jan-Jan Hinojales of Robson-Davao and Joyze Madallang of Highland Darters placed Joint 3rd and 4th.

The Seniors Singles with a breakthrough attendance of 153 registered players was dominated by Mar Guanzon of BACHAM over Paeng Musico of Darts Underground.  Rounding up the Top 4 are Leo Buizon of Team Pasay and Jun Sena Jr. of Highland Darters.

The Youth Singles (16 to 18 years old) with 56 players saw Zambales turned Manila youth darter JM Abacan take over SPDC’s Rodolfo Bolos in the finals. Carlo Catapang of B1DA and Jerico Galvez of Top Anchor placed Joint 3rd and 4th.

The Youth Singles (15 below) of 57 players, Adfil Butuan City’s Jezryl Plaza won over defending champion Djorhiz Bartolome of Guinobatan Dart Club.  Joint 3rd & 4th Placers are Neil Gualberto of Sariaya and Lanze Lorenz Santos of DOMAC (Darters of Marikina City).

Team Events
The Highland Darters team of Rex Balangcod, Nelson Uligan, Dexter Sotto, and Val Capuyan dominated the Fix Four Person Team, the biggest attended event this year with 152 teams of 608 players. They won over Team Wowie of Ding Sumulong, Vic Fajardo, Nelvin Esperas, and Wowie Racinea in the finals.

The championship of Classified 4-Person Team event played by 142 teams or 568 players was won by Karen Lapiz of Agendarts, Reynaldo River of Sacadas, Manny Lumakang of SOLID, and Arsenio Doldol of Tresma. The team of Michael Flores of Darkside, Willy Omli of Highland Darters, Tony Ramos of Batangas, and Jeffrey Camide of CDL-Baguio was the runner-up.

Finally, the Classified Draw Triples of 546 players of 182 teams was conquered by the triple tandem of Anthony Melendres (Highland Darters), Jay Salas (BDC), and Israel Garcia (DOMAC) after defeating Jhune Tranco (Cavite), Carlo Catapang (B1DA), and Jaos Rimando (Highland Darters) who landed on 2nd place.

Cordillera darters of the Cordillera Dart Leaguers (CDL) and Highland Darters with over a 40 player-delegation almost swept the major events winning the Fix 4Man Team, Female Singles, and almost won the Open Singles losing only in the finals.

Noel Malicdem of Robson-Pasig is the only player to go through every match of the Masters Cup and the Open Singles undefeated.  Back to back wins of the Masters Cup and Open Singles is unprecedented in the history of competitive darts.

Waka Mendoza of Baguio City is the first transgender to win a national singles event.

Special Acknowledgement 
The National Darts Federation of the Philippines extends its warmest and sincerest gratitude for the support and participation of all the dart players especially those who travelled from the provinces, notably the delegation from the Cordillera, Davao City, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Butuan, Iligan, Cebu, Tacloban, Maasin, Mindoro, Dagupan, Pampanga, Rizal, Quezon, Laguna, Cavite, Bulacan, Batangas, and Bicol.

Click Here to View Complete Results.

NDFP Affiliation Form