TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines

End of 2nd Quarter 2016

Updated July 07, 2016
Dolreich “DJ” Tongcopanon, Jr., of Robson-GenSan takes a slim lead for the prestigious P25K Chris Sports Darter of the Year Award after the 2nd Quarter of 2016.  DJ is back on track in defense of his 2015 Darter of the Year Award.

From January to June 2016, DJ earned 184 NDFP ranking points coming from three 2nd place finishes in the 120K Pagadian Open,  the 2 singles (Sangyaw Open and the Mayor’s Cup) of the 325K Mayor Romualdez National Tournament,  and a Joint 3rd/4th placement in the 100K Erap Cup in the 2nd Quarter. He won the 100K Philippine Colombian Open in the 1st Q.

In addition to his consistent NDFP ranking performance, DJ won the prestigious Federation Cup – the invitational tournament for the top 32 NDFP ranked players; and the recently concluded Philippine Qualifier of the NCR-Luzon leg.

Team mate Noel Malicdem of Robson-Pasig is close behind in 2nd place with 178 NDFP ranking points after a breakaway performance in two big cash and well-attended tournaments.  Malicdem finished 2nd in the 200K Chris Sports-Robson Summer Dartfest and three T4s in both the singles of the 325K Mayor Romualdez Open and in the 120K Balamban Festival.

Christian Perez of Robson-Koronadal is in 3rd spot with 140 NDFP ranking points following his victory in the biggest tournament points of the 200K Summer Dartfest, and T4 placement in the Balamban Festival and the 100K Kalilangan Open.

Prussian Arceño of Domincs-Manila, the newly crowned National Master, is in 4th place with 134 points following his win in the Panagbenga Open in Baguio and T4 placements in the Mayor’s Cup of the 325K Romuladez Open and the 200K Summer Dartfest.

The 5th to 8th placers are bunched together with three new faces in the ranking - Alex Tagarao of Julios-CDO with 102 points coming from the championship of the 60K Regional Kaamulan Festival and T4 in the Summer Dartfest.

In 6th place is Lito Peresores, president of Agendarts in Gensan with 101 points - winner of the 100K Kalilangan Open and 2 Cotabato City Regional Tournaments:  the 60K Araw ng Cotabato and the 50K Kap. Dalagan Regional.

Jhay-R Laca of Julios-Manila and Boy Ulang of the D’Gunner are tied with 100 points.  Jhay-R won his first National Ranking title in the Balamban Festival and T4s in the Bicol Dart Challenge and the Philippine Columbian Open.  Boy Ulang’s ranking points came from 2nd place finishes in the Panagbenga and Erap Cup.

There were eleven (11) 100K and over tournaments known as National Ranking Tournaments and seven (7) 50K to 99K known as Regional Tournaments from January to June of 2016, with a total cash prize of 1.78M.  So far this year, there are no repeat winners in the National Ranking Tournaments as a testament to the tough and competitive field of players we have in our midst.

The race for the 2016 Chris Sports Darter of the Year Award is becoming more exciting and dramatic compared to the runaway win of Tongcopanon in 2015.  With two quarters to go, the Darter of the Year Award is still wide open.

To view complete list of NDFP Darter of the Year 2016 2nd Quarter Update, Click here
NDFP Affiliation Form