TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines

Chris Sports Darter of the Year
January – September, 2015

Updated October 02, 2015
Dolreich “DJ” Tongcopanon of Robson-Gensan leads the P25,000 Chris Sports Darter of the Year Award with 296 Ranking Points after the 3rd Quarter of 2015. The 20 year-old Tongcopanon gained 92 points in the five (5) NDFP Ranking and Sanctioned Tournaments in the 3rd Q, with a Championship in the Emong’s Cup, 2nd in the 150K Gov. Mendoza Kalivungan Festival, and top 8 finishes in the 100K  Araw ng Digos and the 150K Kadayawan Festival.  DJ missed the chance to be the 12th National Master when teammate Bong Gabiana crushed him in the finals of the Gov. Mendoza Cup, 5-1, with 6 T80’s. This could have been the 3rd National Tournament (100K and over) title of Tongcopanan and thus earn the title National Master.

DJ Tongcopanon dislodged Lourence Ilagan, the top ranked player after the 2nd Q, who only played in the Emong’s Cup with a top 4 finish.  With only 12 points earned in the 3rd Q, Ilagan is now in 3rd place with 228 points.

Bong Gabiana earned 66 points in the 3rd Q to maintain his second spot Darter of the Year ranking with 271 points. Gabiana won the 150K Gov. Mendoza Cup and landed T8 in the 100K Araw ng Digos.

Christian Perez jumped from 7th place to 4th place ranking with 214 points.  Perez came in 2nd in the Araw ng Digos, top 4 in the Kadayawan Festival and T16 in the Gov. Mendoza Cup earning 66 additional points.

Boy Ulang slipped to 5th place after playing only in the Emong’s Cup with a top 4 finish.

Two young players from Mindanao, seasoned by the NDFP youth singles tournaments they have won in their younger years, dominated and earned the most points in the 3rd Q ranking:  Dolreich DJ Tongcopanon with 92 points and 22-year old Jeffrey Arciosa with 86 points.  Arciosa won against Christian Perez in the finals of the 100K Araw ng Digos, top 4 in the Gov. Mendoza Cup, and top 8 in the Kadayawan Festival.  Arciosa who hails from Tacurong, Sultan Kudarat currently works in the school canteen operated by Christian Perez and is the practice partner of Perez in darts.

The Darter of the Year Ranking after the 3rd Q comes from 23 NDFP Sanctioned and Ranking Tournaments since January 2015, wherein 15 were National Tournaments of 100K to 300K, and 8 Regional Ranking Tournaments of 50K to 80K. The total cash prize so far for this year’s ranking tournaments is 2.9M.  The national distribution is as follows Mindanao with 10 tournaments, Luzon 7, GMA 4, and Visayas 2.

The race for the Darter of the Year is still wide open with big ranking points from the upcoming 300K Resorts World Manila Dart Attack Tournament, and the P160K Free Registration Darterong Pinoy.

To view complete list of Chris Sports Darter of the Year (January – September, 2015), Click here
NDFP Affiliation Form