TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines

Chris Sports Darter of the Year
January – June, 2015

Updated July 08, 2015
The quest for the P25,000 Chris Sports Darter of the Year Award for 2015 is wide open after 18 NDFP Sanctioned and Ranking tournaments with a total cash prize of 2.6M from January to June, 2015.  The historic 12 NDFP ranking tournaments in the 2nd Quarter Darts Ratsada greatly altered the ranking of the 1st Quarter.

National Master (NM) Lourence Ilagan of D’Gunner leads the ranking with 216 points from only 4 big events he played in.  Ilagan won the Open Singles of the 250K Resorts World Manila and the 200K Nagcarlan Open;  a 2nd place finish in the 200K Robson Summer Dartfest and top 4 in the biggest tournament so far, the 300K Jay Harrow Santos Cup.

NM Bong Gabiana of Robson-Bukidnon is only 11 points behind Ilagan with 205 points.  Gabiana won the Open Singles of the 150K Araw ng Pagadian and the 150K Araw ng Dabao.  Behind in 3rd place with 204 points is the youth phenom DJ Tongcopanon of Robson-Gensan.  DJ won the 150K Magayon Festival and the 100K Governor Mercado Cup.  Bhoy Ulang with 180 points is in 4th place following his win in the Sagyaw Open of Tacloban and 2nd place finishes in the 250K Resorts World Manila and the 100K Governor Mercado Cup.

The other muti-titled winner of 2015, aside from Ilagan, Gabiana, and Tongcopanon is National Master Christian Perez of Robson-Koronadal with 3 titles.  Christian won the 300K Jay Harrow Santos Cup, the Mayor Romualdez Cup in Tacloban, and the Federation Cup.  Though the Federation Cup is the most prestigious tournament, there are no equivalent NDFP ranking points since this is an invitational tournament for the top 32 ranked players and not an Open Singles event.  Perez is in 7th place with 148 points.

With six months to the end of 2015, we can anticipate a down the wire finish reminiscent of last year’s Darter of the Year Award.  Upcoming tournaments are the Guinobatan Longanisa Festival, Talakudong Festival, Kadayawan Festival, and the Cagayan De Oro Fiesta.  On tap for the 4th Quarter are the 300K Resorts World Manila Octoberfest on October 17-18 and the 160K Free Registration Darterong Pinoy.  Stay tuned for updates as more tournaments will be scheduled for this second half of the year.  

To view complete list of Chris Sports Darter of the Year (January – June, 2015), Click here
NDFP Affiliation Form