TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines


Updated April 16, 2014
Congratulations Andy Villamor, the new National Master. Villamor, the NDFP #1 ranked player, won the Open Singles of the recently concluded Magayon Festival- Bicol Dart Challenge VIII for his 3rd major tournament championship, thus becoming the 10th member of the elite NDFP National Masters.

The Magayon Festival – Bicol Dart Challenge VIII, organized by the Darterong Albayano last April 10-12, 2014 in Legaspi City saw the participation of the top Philippine darters showcasing an overwhelming display of precision, consistency and mental maturity exceeding the high standards of darts the Filipino players are known for. And with the recent trip to Malaysia, Hongkong and Macau, our top players were more than prepared, they were razor sharp.

The opening event of the Classified Draw finals provided the indication of the happenings to come.  Prussian Arceno and Toni Tiongson were leading 3-1 over Ian Perez and Erickson Palencia when they were forced to a decision game. In the decision game, Ian Perez threw a 180 answered by Prussian with another 180. Ian’s partner threw a 140 followed by a 145 by Perez for a nine dart setup of 36, game over – awesome!  The same thing happened in the finals of the Fix-4 Person team, Team 3-Dahlias of Boy Gionzon, Alexis Toylo, Bhuoy Ulang and Nayr Ocampo were leading 3-1 only to lose to Team Dominic of Andy Villamor, Prussian Arceno, Toto Andrade and Chris Salinas. Good timing for Team Dominic as they regained composure after a stretched-out win over MC Gunner Team of Lourence Ilagan.

The Fix Doubles saw the tandem of Lourence Ilagan and Dixie Ibanez dominate the duo of Prussian Arceno and Andy Villamor. By this time the physical and mental exhaustion of Arceno and Villamor’s win over Ian Perez and Ricky Mijares has taken its toll.

The much awaited championship of Chito Yacapin was not meant to be, his hopes was shattered by multi-senior titlist George Centeno of Bicol in the top 4. In the Seniors Singles finals, Centeno won over Nestor Garcia of Legaspi City who earlier won over Darterong Pinoy seniors champion Elmer Maranan and Makati’s top senior player Jerry Osman in the top 4. The Draw Triples was handily won by Roy Agustin, Vince Develos and Ewe Magno.

The much anticipated rematch of The World championship between Lourence Ilagan and Ian Perez, in the top 4 of the seeding, was again not meant to be. Lourence Ilagan after leading 3-1, lost a heartbreaking decision game against Alexis Toylo, in the top 16. In route to the finals, Andy Villamor was fresh having played only one decision game against Seniors runner-up Nestor Garcia in the earlier rounds. Villamor won against  Robert Calupit 4-1 and Edward Santos 5-2 in the top 4. Mean while, Ian Perez played an emotionally, mentally and physically draining decision match with Prussian Arceno in the top 8, a match that could have gone either way. In the top 4, Perez overwhelmed Alexis Toylo 5-2. The all- Mindanawenyo Open Singles Championship saw Andy Villamor leading 2-0 and Perez evening it up 2-2 after 4 legs, but that was the last stand as Villamor wrapped up the match with 3 winning legs.

This was an inspiring tournament with ton 80’s becoming an ordinary feat and high outs coming by the dozens. The inspiration of the Bicol Dart challenge will see the rise of more sanctioned ranking tournaments in the Bicol Region and more competitive Bicolanos in the national arena.

The darting community extends its gratitude to the Darterong Albayano leadership led by Darius Arana, Glen Casulla and Allan Imperial for its 8th consecutive Bicol Dart Challenge. The NDFP profoundly recognizes the support and your loyalty to the vision of maintaining these sanctioned tournaments to create the national infrastructure of NDFP ranking events for the advancement and enhancement of Philippine darts.
Click here to view Pictures
Click here to view Complete Results
NDFP Affiliation Form