TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
    Updated November 06, 2017

President’s Corner
Darterong Pinoy 2017 Summation

Share on Facebook
The National Darts Federation of the Philippines recently concluded the 200K Free Registration Darterong Pinoy 2017 in the midst of the magnificence and splendor of Winford Manila Resort and Casino last October 27-29, 2017. It was a luxurious setting never before seen in Philippine darts.  For 3 days, over 600 players and guests were seated comfortably, treated with the full service of the hotel Food and Beverage staff underneath the glittering chandeliers that lit the place. It was an impressive setting for an exceptionally historic tournament - the longest running annual dart tournament and the biggest free registration dart tournament ever. It was a celebration of camaraderie and brotherhood built on Darterong Pinoy’s foundation that darts is “free for all”.

The Free-Registration Darterong Pinoy is a gift of commitment and support by our corporate partners – Chris Sports, Alfonso I Light, and Robson Sportscraft - to give something back to the community that served them well.  Thank you for making the Darterong Pinoy a continuing reality.

The NDFP expresses it grateful appreciation to the support of Winford Manila Resorts and Casino management for hosting the Darterong Pinoy and extending an excellent service to our darters.

To the darting community, thank you for your kind cooperation to the Tournament Guidelines and most especially for your support. Walang pasaway!

Thank you to the well-organized Tournament Directors - each event went smoothly especially with almost 75% of registrants using the NDFP ID cards to be scanned and the power of Fast-Track program.

Event Summation:
The Classified Draw Triples was the opening event with 399 players or 133 teams.  The championship saw 2 teams led by players who seldom play in the Triples, Boie Parfan and Lourence Ilagan. Parfan along with Michael Robin and Danny Betasolo Jr. won over Lourence Ilagan, Ruel Severino, and Ryan Mapua.

The 2nd day opened with the Fix Four-Person Team with 132 teams of 528 players.  The semi-finals saw Team Highland led by defending 2016 Darterong Pinoy Team champions Val Capuyan and Dexter Sotto with Batawig and Ngaya-an,  prevailing over Team Terton of Sumulong, Saez, Concepcion, and Barsubia.  The other semis saw Team Robson of Malicdem, Tongcopanon, Dimaculangan, and Mijares winning over Team Julio of Tagarao, Ulang, Santos, and Laca. The finals saw Team Robson win a dramatic 94 finish with a double bull out to pocket the championship.

The Classified Draw 4-Person Team ended the 2nd day with 114 teams and 455 players.  Joseph Lingwayon, Carlos Perito, Greg Gumbawan, and Ronnie Garcia ended the hopes of Allen Macalino, Butz Millet, Allan Caibigan, and Cheche Guerrero in straight legs.

The Ladies and Gays Singles was the first event with 30 players on the 3rd day.  Defending champion Waka Mendoza lost in straight legs to a first-time tournament but confident player Mary Grace Pausal from Dapitan City, who was discovered by Tata Paglinawan. The other semis saw Janjan Hinojales take a sweet revenge over her tormentor in the semis last year Angie De Tablan in a decisive leg.  In the finals, comebacking, 40-year-old NDFP Hall of Famer, Janjan Hinojales of Robson showed too much experience to win in straight legs and again enjoy the darting limelight.

The Open Singles closed the tournament with 391 players.  The DOT Gunners Lourence Ilagan and Alexis Toylo won over the Robson tandem of Paolo Nebrida and Donjem Dimaculangan in the semis.  The championship was battle of youth over experience.  The youthful Toylo overcame experience as Ilagan was visibly tiring and having vertigo.  With the win Toylo, earned his 3rd National Open Singles and the National Masters Title.