TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
    Updated Febuary 24, 2017

President’s Corner

Share on Facebook
Alexis Toylo finally lived up to expectations by winning the Open Singles of the 150K Panagbenga Open last February 19, 2017 in Baguio City. After pocketing the 10K special award for his perfect 9-darts out in the Open Singles of NDFP Ranking 120K Huling Hirit Tournament in Davao City, December 2013, he was highly anticipated as a potential champion in the making.

The childish and carefree Alexis has matured to win his first ever NDFP Singles title, both in the Open Singles and in the Free-Registration NDFP Youth Singles where he first began to play competitive darts. He won 2 consecutive decision matches over Noel Malicdem in the top 4 and Ricky Mijares in the finals.

Following his 9-darts out achievement, Genalyn Guinoo of Darkside gave Alexis a break by bringing him to Manila in 2014 to further his exposure and competitiveness in darts, and even gave him his first ever international stint in Hongkong. Alexis comes from the youth stable of Danny Quilinging in Cagayan de Oro City. Danny exerts full support to provide experience to his players by bringing them to the pinnacle of the youth championships - the Darterong Pinoy Youth Singles, and Alexis was no exception

Speaking of youth players, they are the highlight of the recently concluded Panagbenga Open and Araw ng Sibugay Dart Tournaments.  In Baguio City, 12-year-old Bebang Orbeta of Fidel Darts Club in Tondo blanked Darterong Pinoy champion Waka Mendoza, 4-0 to win the Ladies-Gay Singles of the Panagbenga Open. Youth player Bebang shows promise as an upcoming dart player. She tested the limits of Jhay Doria, who is undeniably the current top youth player, with a decisive match in the finals of the Youth Singles Championship.  A couple of weeks ago, Bebang Orbeta partnered with Toto Andrade to win the mixed Seniors-Ladies Championship.  She practices in Tresma Bar and Grill with veteran players to further improve and sharpen her playing skills.

In the 150K Araw ng Sibugay youth players made history when they won the 4-Person Team Event led by Kirt John Caayupan and Jarad Eng of QDarts-CDO, Mark Bracero of Team Joganz-CDO, and Trazzy Jezyrl Plaza of Adfil-Butuaan City. They came on top out of the 29 teams with more experienced and seasoned dart players.

We remember that Trazzy Jezryl Plaza, 12 years old, was the "darling" of the crowd in the 300K Mayor Romualdez Cup in Tacloban City last June when he wooed the crowd with his youthful exuberance and professional bearing.  Kirt John Caapuyan, 17 years old, is a 4-time Youth Champion including the recently concluded 100K Hinugyaw Open last January in Koronadal City.  It is surprising to note that these top players for the youth singles were not able to reach the finals signaling the presence of more competitive youth players.

The top 4 players in the Youth Singles of the Araw ng Sibugay are all 12 years old and below. Joshua Balboa who hails from Kabasalan, Zamboanga won the Youth Singles title beating EJ Ladot of Ipil, Sibugay.  Both players come from families that are very supportive of darts and having their fathers as their trainer and mentor in darts.

Right in our midst is our hope for the future of darts.  The platform of opportunity for youth darters has been in place since 1998 when the first Darterong Pinoy Youth Championship was launched.  The commitment of the affiliated local dart organizations to support the NDFP’s call for the free-registration in all youth singles has been heeded - thanks to your support.  As the numbers of Youth Darters continue to grow, the NDFP Ranking Tournaments correspondingly expand - sustaining the continuity of competitive players from the ranks of the youth who eventually develop and mature in the nationwide ranking tournaments.

The life-cycle of darts is in motion.  In our presence today are the future international champions who will ultimately bring honor and glory to Philippine darts.