TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
    Updated June 09, 2016


Share on Facebook
All roads lead to Tacloban City from the mountains of the Cordillera to the hinterlands of Mindanao for the 2nd Mayor Alfred Romualdez- 325K National Darts Open, this Friday, June 10-12. All systems are a go for the richest NDFP sanctioned ranking tournament for 2016 opening with a sumptuous dinner hosted by the Hon. Mayor Romualdez before the first event.

Jun Buling, President of Tacloban Darts Association spearheads the organizing efforts and continues to maintain the innovative, distinct, and unique 2 NDFP ranking Open Singles in one tournament - The Sangyaw Open (70K) and the Mayors Singles (70K).  In addition, this is the only tournament with a cash award for the Most Valuable Player (MVP). The P25K MVP cash prize is awarded to the player who will top the total cash prize won during the tournament.  The 2016 MVP cash award is more than doubled from last year's P10K MVP.  This incentive encourages all players to play their best in all events.

Christian Perez defends the Mayor Romualdez MVP after an exciting MVP race last year.  In the Classified Draw Doubles, the first event last year, Perez won to take the early lead.  The whopping champion's purse of P18K of the 1st singles, the Sangyaw Singles, propelled winner Boy Ulang to lead over Perez's share of P8K for the Doubles.  Going to the Mayor's Open Singles, the final event, there was a lot of probabilities and possibilities and ultimately the MVP is for Ulang to take with a T8 finish, whoever wins.  Unfortunately, Ulang lost in the first round, throwing the race for the MVP wide open. Perez, and Prussian Arceño wins the MVP outright with a championship, if not, Ulang may still win the MVP.

Perez thrives under intense pressure and with a dogged determination of a champion, won all the way to the finals winning against Robson team mate Noel Malicdem the Mayor's Singles and the MVP.  Highly memorable for Perez, was the T8 match with Dixie Ibañez leading 1-0 and sitting on a 40 out. Perez hit T20, T17 and DB for 161 out to even the match. Dixie taking a 2-0 lead and throwing first in the 3rd leg would be hard to surmount.

Perez, fresh from his win in the 200K Summer Dartfest is sharp and ready to defend the MVP.  Boy Ulang, after a spectacular singles performance in Germany for the World Cup is set to defend the Sangyaw Open, the only NDFP national ranking tournament won by Ulang after a lot of heart breaking championship losses.  DJ Tongcopanon, the new Federation Cup champion and Chris Sports 2015 Darter of the Year has matured and showed consistency.  Noel Malicdem has finally lived up to his potential and newly installed National Masters Prussian Arceño and Jaypee Detablan are all set for a big breakthrough. We should not discount the strong players of Mindanao coming from Cagayan de Oro, Gensan, Sultan Kudarat and Davao City - led by, Dixie Ibañez, Bong Gabiana, Jeffrey Arciosa, Alex Tagarao and Dodoy Nalungon among others.  The darters from the Cordillera can spring a surprise led by Home and Away Malaysian Singles Champion Nelson Uligan, so with the recent Taiwan champions Paolo Nebrida and Jerry Salenga.

We all await with anticipation another memorable and exciting NDFP ranking tournament experience, enhanced by the efficient triumvirate of NDFP tournament directorship of Rommel Escobil, Marvin Orlina, and Ryan Suarez.  They stand ready to showcase the computerized drawing and bracketing of the NDFP.  Tournament host Tacloban Dart Association, Inc. (TDAI) supported by the Mayor's office is all out to assist players for their convenience and comfort.  Maraming Salamat po sa inyong lahat.

We look forward to seeing you all in the splendor and serene beaches of Patio Victoria, the venue in Tacloban City.


The computation of the NDFP Ranking points will be based on the Points Allocation Table for a 150,000 tournament. This is arrived at by dividing the 300K tournament into two for the 2 ranking open singles. At this level the ranking points is up to the T32 players and for participants of 65-128 the champion earns 50 ranking points, if more than 128 players, there will be more ranking points. The quest for the Chris Sports Darter of the Year Award is very close with no repeat champions so far in the 12 National and Regional ranking tournaments for 2016. We may see a breakaway lead for the Darter of the Year with big ranking points on tap.