TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
    Updated April 27, 2016

JAYPEE DETABLAN: 14th NDFP National Master

Share on Facebook
Congratulations Jaypee Detablan for winning his 3rd NDFP National Open Singles Championship in the recently concluded 100K Erap Cup, thus becoming the 14th NDFP National Master.  Jaypee previously won the 100K Tulungan Po Natin Sila Open Singles in Zambales, December 13-15, 2013 and the 250K Resorts World Manila Open Singles Championship in October 30-31, 2014.

Last October 2015, Jaypee almost won the National Masters Cup in Sta. Lucia after leading number 1 NDFP ranked darter Christian Perez in the finals.  After two and half years, Jaypee finally joined the elite group of the NDFP National Masters. The National Masters Plaque will be given during the Summer Dartfest/Federation Cup on May 28 at the Sta Lucia Mall.

Jaypee Detablan is a product of the NDFP Youth Singles Championships.  His major Youth Singles were three (3) Darterong Pinoy Youth Singles in 2006, 2008 and 2009, a record still unsurpassed. In his last year as a youth player in 2009, JP won the Robson Summer Dartfest, the 5M Manny Pacquiao International Dart Classic, and 150K Baguio Centennial.

Jaypee started playing darts at a tender age of 13 under the guidance of Orlan Bernardino’s Youth Development Program in Taytay Rizal.  At the age of 15, he won his first Darterong Pinoy Youth Title. Jaypee also joins the Youth Champions in the National Masters elite class with the 1st Darterong Pinoy Youth Champion Christian Perez and multi-titled NDFP Youth Singles champion DJ Tongcopanon.

Jaypee at age 24 will continue to mature as a dart player with proper guidance.  He is married to Angie Villamadrid, the top international lady player of the Philippines and he will always have a dart sparring partner to practice with. 

Earlier this year, Prussian Arceño attained his National Master Title in the 2016 Panagbenga Open and Dodoy Nalungon of CDO won his 2nd Title in Ipil Sibugay.  Waiting for their chance to be the next National Master are two-time National Open Singles winners since 2005: Elmer Maranan, Edward Santos, Ricky Mijares, Boy Chucas, Willy Omli, Bobot Tobianosa, Rey Sevillo, and Dodoy Nalungon.  As a side note, Boy Ulang again failed to win his 2nd title after losing in the finals to Prussian in Baguio, and to Jaypee in the Erap Cup.