TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
    Updated Feb. 11, 2016

1st 100K Philippine Colombian Association
National Darts Open
A Perspective

Share on Facebook
The 1st Philippine Columbian Association 100K National Darts Open came to a very successful conclusion last February 7, 2016 after two days of intense competition highlighted by the ascendant performance of Dolreich “DJ” Toncopanon Jr.

National Master DJ Toncopanon Jr. of Robson-Gensan and the 2015 Darter of the Year won the 2nd Emong’s Cup Open Singles, the Fix Four Person Team Championship and the Classified Draw Triples. DJ successfully defended his 1st Emong Cup won last September, by outclassing National Master Boie Parfan in the finals 5-2, Jhay ar Laca in the semi-finals and Boy Ulang in the top 8. The class act of Toncopanon was exemplified in the last leg of the championship match, by hitting triple 20, single 17 and a double bull out to close out 127 and stamp his first Open Singles of 2016.

In the Fix Four Person Team Event, DJ joined his Robson team mates Christian Perez, Ricky Mijares and Jeffrey Arciosa in beating Top Gunner Team of Boy Ulang, Alexis Toylo, Jay Doria and Robert Calupit. DJ along with Toks Seduco and Ramzy Fernandez won the Classified Draw Triples over the fighting team of Lito Peresores of Agendarts,  Botchok Gruta of St Perfect Darts Club and Francis Frayna of Makati.

The 20 year old Toncopanon continues to extend his championship streak after winning the Open Singles of the last NDFP national ranking tournament of 2015, the 100K Inugunay Festival, the Fix Triples of the Philippine Cup, the Rannie Raymundo Singles Cup and the 4Man of the Selangor Open. Dolreich Toncopanon Jr. defense of the 2016 Chris Sports Darter of the Year is on track with such a promising start.

The Classified Draw Doubles was won by Nelson Uligan of Highland Darters along with Emil Lipana of Expendables/Compadres over the duo of Roy Agustin of Tres Marias and Toto Meniolas of Single Line.

Nelson Uligan, the runner up of the 2015 Masters Cup, was one of the three players who ended the hopes of the top 3 NDFP ranked players all in the top 16.  Uligan won over 2nd ranked Lourence Ilagan 4-3 after leading 3-0, Jhay ar Laca of Julios edged top ranked Christian Perez 4-3 and Jeffrey Arciosa of Robson-Tacurong beat 3rd ranked Prussian Arcenio 4-2. Along with the top 4 performance of Paolo Nebrida in the Emong’s Cup, we may be seeing the “changing of the guards” as the younger and new players begin to gain the experience and exposure for top level performance. 

The Super February 19 weekend with three (3) national ranking tournaments – 120K Panagbenga Open in Baguio, 150K Araw ng Sibugay, Ipil Zamboanga Sibugay and the 100K Kalilangan Festival, General Santos City will have new champions that will break open the exciting race for the 2016 Chris Sports Darter of the Year. But before the Super weekend, see you all in the 53K 4th Annual Fiesta in Caloocan, an NDFP Regional Ranking Tournament. For full tournament details visit the ndfp results.