TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
    Updated Jan. 29, 2016


Share on Facebook
The 2016 National Darts Federation of the Philippines (NDFP) National Ranking and Sanctioned Tournaments kicks off on a high note with four (4) weeks of tournaments starting on January 29-31, 2016.

This marks the beginning of a year-long campaign for the prestigious P25K Chris Sports Darter of the Year Award. Will Dolreich “DJ” Toncopanon Jr., 2015 Darter of the Year Awardee have another runaway victory, or will the top-ranked NDFP Players Christian Perez and Lourence Ilagan reassert their dart supremacy for the 2016 Darter of the year? Will another unknown player emerge in 2016 or will the up-and-coming players, silently waiting in the sidelines, rise to the challenge of competition?

Adding tenacity and vigor to the start of the 2016 Ranking season is the determination of nine (9) players for their 3rd and last norm for the National Masters Title.  Prussian Arceño, Ricky Mijares, Elmer Maranan, JP de Tablan, Willy Omli, Edward Santos, Boy Chucas, Rey Sevillo, and Bobot Tobianosa are all vying to join the elite group of the 12 NDFP National Masters.  This is the most number of players to start a season with 2 National Titles, but history can repeat itself.  Recall that DJ Toncopanon started 2015 with no titles and later swept 4 national ranking championships within the same year, the same with the 11th National Master Bong Gabiana winning 3 titles in 2014.

This is another exciting year as ranking tournaments continue to stack up for the rest of the year.  One thing is certain - there will be more than enough ranking tournaments for 2016 that may even surpass the breakthrough 30 ranking tournaments and 3.65M cash prize of 2015.

The NDFP rationale for the Ranking Tournaments remains steadfast   - “this is the arena where champions are molded, new talents are discovered, and experience is gained.  This is the platform where the hopes and aspirations of darters are fulfilled and the training ground to meet the challenges of international competition so we may attain international recognition and respect”

The 2016 NDFP Ranking and Sanction tournaments begin with:

  January 29-31 : 60K CCDA Regional Tournament, Cotabato City
  Organizer CCDA (Cotabato City Darts Association)
  February 6-7 : 100K 1st PCA Open Darts Tournament, Malate, Manila

Organizer Philippine Columbian Association

  February 13 : 53K 4th Annual Fiesta Cup, Caloocan City
  Organizer CADASS (Caloocan City Darts Association)
  February 19-21 : 120K Panagbenga National Open, Baguio City

Organizer CDL (Cordillera Dart Leaguers) and Highland Darters

  February 19-21 : 150K 2nd Ipil National Open, Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay
  Organizer ISDA (Ipil Sibugay Dart Association)
  February 19-21 : 100K Kalilangan Festival, Gensan
  Organizer Agendarts / DAPDESI
  March 12-13 : 60K Kaamulan Festival, Malaybalay, Bukidnon

For full details visit the NDFP website: www.ndfpdarts.com 

Please note that three (3) Ranking Tournaments are all scheduled for the Super February 19-21 weekend. These dates are the scheduled Local Government Unit celebration of the local festivals and rescheduling becomes problematic to obtain LGU sponsorship.