TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines
    Updated October 21, 2015


Share on Facebook
National Darts Federation of the Philippines (NDFP) Araw ng Parangal - a day to recognize and acknowledge player or players who have excelled, and individuals or organizations who contributed to the advancement of darts adhering to the ideals, values and vision of the NDFP, was held last October 17, 2015 during the Darterong Pinoy.

National Master
The National Masters Title was conferred to Dolreich “DJ” Tongcopanon of Robson-Gensan having won three (3) Open Singles of the NDFP National Ranking Tournaments of 100,000 and over. The first win of Tongcopanon came in April, 2015 in the 150K Daragang Magayon-Bicol Darts Challenge in a close decision match over Elmer Maranan.  In June, 2015 DJ handily won the 100K Gov. Mercado Cup in Maasin, Southern Leyte over Bhoy Ulang, and the third singles championship was in the recently concluded Resorts World Manila 300K Dart Attack when he demolished Prussian Arceño 5-2.

DJ is 12th player to earn the title of National Master (NM) since 2005, following the footsteps of NM titlists Christian Perez, Lourence Ilagan, Boie Parfan, Boy Gionzon, Dixie Ybañez, Bong Gabiana, Jojo Barellano, Andy Villamor, Toto Andrade, Bert Lozano, and Noel Malicdem.

President’s Award

This year the President’s Award is for Leadership.  The two awardees for the President’s Award steered the Cordillera Region from the downward spiral of a leadership vacuum and provided the structures of governance to put a semblance of order to a growing dart community at odds with each other, bickering, disagreeing and incompatible with its activities.

The President’s Award for Leadership was awarded to Dagunay Shirley Balabag for initiating, persevering, and implementing the Cordillera Dart Leagues, a program of the NDFP in 2013 for the Cordillera.  Through her leadership, the dart leagues was established in Baguio and eventually expanded all the way to Bontoc and Sagada, in the process integrating new darters and sustaining competitive darters. The Igorot Dart Club of Bontoc was formed and affiliated with the NDFP.  The Cordillera Dart Leaguers in Baguio and Trinidad is now a major dart group affiliated with the NDFP.

The 2nd President’s Award for Leadership was awarded to Alexander Canilang of Trinidad Valley.  As the base of darters was growing through the dart leagues, Alex Canilang pursued to fulfill the dreams of the Cordillera darters to compete for national recognition and honor. Through his leadership, the NDFP affiliate Highland Darters was formed and helped secure the participation and exposure of the Cordillera darters to the national tournaments including the long trip to Tacloban.  Alex organized the 2015 100K Panagbenga Open, and supported the propagation of the dart leagues with the Highland Dart League.

Through their efforts, the 2015 Summer Dart Leagues in the Cordillera concluded with 97 dart teams. The scenario of a purely tournament setting with its problem of conflicting schedules, player classification and dominance of top players is now minimized and augmented with dart leagues.

The Cordillera Dart Leaguers and the Highland Darters, both realigned with the thrust and direction of the NDFP, are led by individuals with integrity and passion for the sport. As they begin to collaborate in the dart activities of the Cordillera the organizational structure will continue to evolve and the synergy of both organizations will further generate more winning players coming from the Cordillera in the national scene.