TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines

Our Commitment to the Growth and Development of Philippine Darts

Share on Facebook

The National Darts Federation of the Philippines (NDFP) created another milestone in the history of Philippine darts with the smashing success of its organized 150,000 Free Registration Darterong Pinoy 2013, held October 11 to 13 at the Sta. Lucia Mall, that gathered a total player registration of 2,587 coming from 1,264 players, nationwide - amidst the inevitable challenges of nature and concurrent international tournaments

On its 15th year, NDFP’s Darterong Pinoy broke records in total player attendance and youth participation despite the fury of typhoon Santi that deprived the participation of Central Luzon darters, particularly from the Zambales Darters Federation, Pampanga, Dagupan, and the Mindoro darters who were stranded at the Port of Calapan.  Simultaneously, a number of our top Pinoy darters were competing in Hong Kong and Malaysia on the same weekend.  Also, the strict observance of the tournament’s close of registration consequently left a lot of late players unable to play. 

The biggest, free registration 150,000 Darterong Pinoy 2013 was made possible through the generosity of the event presenters, Robson Sportscraft, Alfonso I Light, and Chris Sports; and supported by Sta. Lucia East Mall, San Miguel Brewery, Food Island, Coca-Cola, and media partner Manila Bulletin.  Apart from the cash and trophy prizes, our sponsors treated our darters to a fun-filled weekend with raffle prizes and giveaways.  

The NDFP extends its warmest appreciation to the darters from Visayas and Mindanao who travelled hundreds of miles to partake in the 15th anniversary of Darterong Pinoy.  Most of all, we thank the darting community for its overwhelming response to our invitation to experience the luxury of an air-conditioned venue and comfort of a big space, to meet new friends, renew camaraderie, and enjoy the highest standards of a dart tournament setup.

Through the years, the NDFP has placed Darterong Pinoy at the forefront of Philippine dart tournaments by advocating change, embracing challenges, and bridging darters that entice active participation from novice/ beginners to the hard core players, from the youth, the ladies, and the seniors.  Indeed, Darterong Pinoy is more than just a dart tournament – this free registration tournament is the manifestation of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines’ commitment to take the lead, inspire aspirations of innovation, and to set the standards of excellence. 

Darterong Pinoy 2013 also witnessed the installation and recognition of a new National Master, Rolando “Toto” Andrade from Tondo and Regional Master, Ogie Castelo from Davao during the Araw ng Parangal program on the tournament’s second day.  They were welcomed by NDFP National Masters Dixie Ybañez, Jojo Barellano, Bert Lozano, and Noel Malicdem, as well as Darterong Pinoy Youth champions Jaypee Detablan, Jemel Modesto, Greg Academia, EJ Rebollos, and Dudz Virginio. Conspicuously absent were National Masters Ian Perez, Lourence Ilagan, Boie Parfan and Boy Gionzon who were competing in Hongkong.


Youth Singles (174 players)
Youth participation is at its peak and getting younger with the registration of 104 youngsters below 16 years old and 70 players from 16 to 19 years old. Darterong Pinoy will continue to produce Youth Singles champions such as Ian Perez, EJ Rebollos, JP Detablan, Roy Agustin, and Jemel Modesto among others. Future international champions are in the making. The sustaining life cycle of the sport is in place.
Youth Singles Champion – JP Nuñez of Bacham, Montaban, Rizal (16 years and below)
Youth Singles Champion – Rey Gene Mitra, Victoria, Tarlac (16 – 19 years old)

Open Singles (424 players)
Playing in the wee hours of the morning after the elimination of the 422 players were Ricky Mijares (Robson-Bohol) and EJ Rebollos (Tres Marias -Koronadal City), the 2000 Darterong Pinoy Youth Singles champion. Come backing Mijares relied on experience and demolished Rebollos 5-2. Rounding the top 4 were Bert Lozano (Robson CDO) and Nelson Uligan (Baguio City).

Ladies Singles (43 players)
Angie Villamadrid (TOP Philippines) edged Jan Jan Hinojales (Robson Davao) in a close decision game, thereby maintaining the top NDFP ladies ranking. Annie Ticman (Datadarts) and Ging Ansale (Bukidnon) were joint 3rd/4th.

Seniors Singles (99 players)
The entries for the Senior’s Singles did not surpass the previous high of 117 players as seniors players still playing in the Fix-4man team event were not allowed to play. Elmer Maranan, from Sariaya, Quezon and president of the Quezon Darts Association shutout Chito Yacapin of Quezon City/Cagayan de Oro in the finals. Ed Almasco (Cavite) and Pabling Aragones (Binangonan) came in joint 3rd and 4th.

Fix-4 Person Team (496 players)
Experienced older players of Terton led by Bobby Concepcion, Jon Cordero, Ching Saez and Pattie de la Passion stamped it supremacy over the younger players of Q.C Assassins and the recent Open Division League Champions of the Veranda League led by Al Dadole, Al de Ocampo, Mark Kanapi and Gally Encarnacion. Team Sadati of Baguio City and Yes team of Mandaluyong shared joint 3rd and 4th.

Fix Doubles (392 players)
Provincial darters dominated the Fix-Doubles Event. VL Davao City of Long Longyapon and Jecle Rosales won over team MCDS Davao City of Dixie Ybañez and Allan Mirabueno. Another provincial team from Baguio City, Rex Balangcod and Nelson Uligan shared joint 3rd and 4th with team Robson-Manila of Rodel Villa and Jemel Modesto, a 2-time Darterong Pinoy Youth champion.

Classified Draw Doubles (482 players)
Long Longyapon (VL Davao) and Ronel Narvaez (Dart Knights) won 4-0 over Rodel Villa and Allen Macalino (Robson-Manila). Baguio Darters Kenneth Madalang paired with Ronald Tanlioco of Makati and Max Tudlong paired with Mon Antonio of Bullhouse Las Piñas for the 3rd and 4th places. 

Classified Draw Triples (477 players)
The Classified Draw Triples saw a lady player winning a championship outside of the Ladies Singles with Issa Granada, daughter of Edna Granada, teaming with Rodel Villa and Vic Sy of Mandaluyong. 2nd place were Jake Ubaldo, Ralph Villafuerte of Marikina and Ray Irlanda of Nagcarlan, Laguna.  

Best in Uniform of the Fix-4Man Event
The Tacloban Dart Association Inc., led by president Jun Buling, Rex Bautista, Tham Vallar, and Mac Mac Calimba wearing their Lacoste cut uniforms won Best Team Uniform and awarded with one set each of Grip-X, the new generation tungsten. MSC-Montalban Shotters Club and Nestle Cagayan de Oro came in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Alfonso Light Dartboard (Razor dartboards) Raffle Winners

  • Chi Chi Zacarias – Taytay, Rizal
  • Jonathan Santos – Marikina City
  • Alfred Achacoso – COA

Special Acknowledgement to the Provincial Delegation of Darters

  • FDAMDI (Davao) led by Vice-President Chris Sugala and the VL Tandem of Bebot Villa Abrille and Long Longyapon.
  • Cagayan de Oro represented by CODA, Dartfathers and Nestle CDO
  • Other Mindanao darters - Butuan City Darters, Socodarts
  • CHEDA (Cebu City) led by President Bert Colong
  • TDA (Tacloban City) led by President Jun Buling / MCDC (Maasin City, Southern Leyte) led by President Jerry Paler / BDC (Baybay City, Leyte) President Ralph Veloso
  • Mindoro Dart Association – President Rommel Atienza
  • Dart Groups from Baguio City led by Shirley Balabag
  • Bicol Darters from Baao, Pili, Naga, Legaspi, Guinobatan
  • Quezon Dart Association – led by President Elmer Maranan, Darters from Sariaya and Lucena City
  • IDOL (Laguna) busload of darters led by acting President Floro Macararanga
  • BUD (Batangas) / Olongapo City/ Bulacan / Palawan
  • And to all other darters from all over , especially to the Metro Manila Darters and the corporate darters