TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines


Share on Facebook
Paolo Nebrida, of Robson Olongapo City, leads the 2019 Chris Sports Darter of the Year ranking after winning four (4) Open Singles titles in the 2nd Quarter of 2019. Nebrida won the 130K Bantayog Festival in Daet last April, where he earned his 3rd National Open Singles to become the 21st  NDFP National Master, followed by the 150K Naga City Masonic Lodge Tournament, and his back-to-back championships in the 160K Araw ng Digos.  In total, Nebrida has won the most championships this year with a total of 6 Open Singles and earning 306 ranking points. Nebrida is in top shape reminiscent of his 16th place finish in England at the PDC World Youth Championship last November.

Christian Perez, of Robson Koronadal, slid to 2nd place after leading the Darter of the Year ranking in the 1st Quarter. Perez is only 8 ranking points behind Nebrida. Another Robson team mate, Noel Malicdem is in 3rd place with 252 points.

The first 6 months of 2019 is a historic period for Philippine darts with a total of 10.5M cash prize with 32 NDFP Open Singles ranking events. Mindanao leads the NDFP sanctioned events with 19 follow by Luzon with 9 and Visayas with 4. Though Visayas has the least number of tournaments in the last 6 months, the biggest cash price were all in the Visayas with the 7.5M Philippine Open and the 500K Casino Filipino in Bacolod.

In the 32 Open Singles, there were a total of 24 different players who won an Open Singles event. This shows the depth and breadth of our competitive players. Only three players won more than once – Nebrida with 6, Michael Viola with 3, and Ian Perez with 2.

The 24K award for the 2019 Chris Sports Darter of the Year is very much wide open.  As the schedule for the 3rd Quarter starts to fill in, we are looking for an exciting finish down the wire. Your bet is as good as mine.  Good Luck to all.