TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines

Darter of the Year
2nd Quarter 2018

Share on Facebook
The 2018 Darter of the Year Award is a wide open race after the 2nd Quarter of 2018. This is the quarter with a remarkable breakthrough of P7.4M in total cash prize in a record 16 NDFP Ranking and Sanctioned tournaments. The 2nd Q is unprecedented in the history of Philippine darts in the magnitude of the cash prize offered, and the number of ranking tournaments organized on a national scale in Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao, and the NCR.

Michael Viola of DOT-Cagayan de Oro earned enough points in the 1st Q to maintain a slim lead for the Darter of Year Award with 354 points. Viola added 172 points to his 1st Q of 182 points from a 2nd place finish in the Mayor Romualdez Cup in Tacloban, and T4 finishes in the Balamban Festival and the Sangyaw Singles. Viola was not able to duplicate any championships after winning 3 National Tournaments and a Regional Tournament in the 1st Q.

Noel Malicdem of Robson jumped from 5th place to 2nd place following his championships in the 650K Casino Filipino - Iloilo City, the 200K Balamban Festival in Santiago City, Isabela, and a T8 finish in the 5M Philippine Open. Malicdem earned the biggest points in the 2nd Q with 270 points for a total of 338 points, a mere 16 points behind Viola.

Lourence Ilagan of DOT-Gunner is in 3rd place with 264 points, all earned in the 2nd Q. Ilagan won the 450K Mayor Romualdez Open in Tacloban, finalist in both the 650 Casino Filipino - Iloilo City and the Robson Summer Dartfest, and T4 in the 5M Philippine Open.

Alexis Toylo of DOT-Cagayan de Oro is in 4th with 230 points, mostly from the 2nd Q, with T4 finishes in the Araw ng Makati, 650K Casino Filipino - Iloilo City, 150K Gov Yap in Maasin City, and a T8 in the 5M Philippine Open.

Rounding the top 10 ranking are:

5th Place: Dolreich "DJ" Toncopanon of Robson-Gensan, 222 points. DJ won the 150K Gov Yap in Maasin City, and 2nd place in the Araw ng Makati.
6th Place: Gilbert "Bhoy" Ulang of Kumpadres, 196 points. Ulang won the Sangyaw Singles in Tacloban, the Robson Summer Dartfest, and a T4 in the Mayor Romualdez Cup.
7th Place: Donjem Dimaculangan of Robson-Lucena City, 188 points.
8th-9th Place: Christian Perez of Robson-Koronadal and Paolo Nebrida of Robson-Olongapo, 176 points
10th Place: Ronnie Jalaman of Vengeance-Malolos, 170 points.

After 2 quarters, there are 27 NDFP Ranking tournaments with a total cash prize of 8.5M. Tournaments were distributed as follows: Mindanao 11, Luzon 9, Visayas 5, and NCR 2.

With more big tournaments in store for the 3rd and 4th Quarters, the Darter of the Year Award is wide open to all who strives to be the best.

The 200K T'nalak Festival in Koronadal, and the 70K Araw ng Ipil in Zamboanga Sibugay are scheduled in July, followed in August by the 200K Kalivungan Festival in Kidapawan, and the 400K Kadayawan Festival in Davao City. The Philippines will host the PDC Asian Tour Manila in October at the Crown Plaza with 2 Singles valued at P1.2M. Tentatively scheduled are the 650K Casino Filipino - Tagaytay, Darterong Pinoy, Baguio Day, and hopefully a year-ender 1M Casino Filipino Tournament.

RT Soncuya