TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines

Chris Sports Darter of the Year 2018
Viola Wins 4 Open Single

Share on Facebook
Michael Viola of Cagayan de Oro won four (4) Open Singles championships in the 1st Q to lead the 2018 Chris Sports Darter of the Year with 182 points. Winning four (4) of the eleven (11) tournaments was very impressive with no other player winning more than once in the 1st Q.

Viola won the 1st Ranking Event of 2018, the Hinugyaw Festival, to earn his 3rd National Singles Title and became the 17th member of the elite group of National Masters. There are only 17 players who have earned the National Masters title since 2005.

Aside from the 100K Hinugyaw Festival in Koronadal, he also won the 200K Hon. Zubiri National - Malaybalay; the 150K Araw ng Dabao and the 50K Unang Hirit both in Davao City. His tournament wins are all in Mindanao. It should be noted that 7 ranking tournaments were held in Mindanao, 3 in Luzon and 1 in the Visayas.

Paolo Nebrida of Robson is in 2nd place with 140 ranking points after three (3) 2nd place finishes in the 120K Panagbenga Festival, 100K Kaamulan Festival , 100K Naga Mayor Cup and finally a breakthrough win in the last tournament of the 1st Q - the 50K M3S Regional in Bulacan with wins over Gionzon in the finals and Malicdem in the T4. Eight players with 60 to 76 points are bunched in the 3rd to 10th spots with only 16 points separating them.

Viola is on track for the Darter of the Year award if he continues his hot winning streak since October 2017. There are 3 more quarters to go, including the cash-laden Philippine Open Tacloban 100K USD and the scheduled big tournaments of Casino Filipino. The race for the 25K Chris Sports Darter of the Year is still wide open.