TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines

January – June 2017 Ranking

Share on Facebook
Noel Malicdem, the “Gentle Giant” from Robson Sportscraft, leads the 2017 Darter of the Year Award after the 2nd Quarter of 2017. The Darter of the Year ranking points came from the 26 Open Singles Ranking tournaments from Santiago City, Isabela to General Santos City, broken down into 17 national and 9 regional open singles. The total NDFP Ranking tournaments totaled 2.8M cash prize from January to June 2017.

National Master Noel Malicdem garnered 346 ranking points from the 4 national titles won: the Mayor’s Cup in Tacloban, Araw ng Makati, Araw ng Dabao, and the Kalilangan Festival in Gensan - the most wins by any player this year, on top of his 3 T4 finishes in other major tournaments. Aside from earning the most points in the 1st Q and 2nd Q of 2017, Malicdem also won the prestigious Federation Cup during the Robson Summer Dartfest in May and the 50K MVP Award of the biggest tournament for 2017, the 400K 3rd Mayor Romuladez Open.

Lito Peresores of AGENDARTS, Gensan, maintained his 2nd place with 272 ranking points coming from 2 regional titles won in Upi, Maguindanao and from Cagayan de Oro City, supported by his 2nd place finishes in 3 national tournaments. Lito Peresores was awarded the Regional Masters Plaque after winning his 3rd regional title this year which was presented during the Summer Dartfest. Lito Peresores is the most travelled player playing in Luzon-Visayas and Mindanao, earning points from 13 Open Singles events.

National Master Dolreich “DJ” Tongcopanon of Robson-Gensan, maintained his 3rd place ranking with 264 points coming from his win in the 100K Bantayog Festival in Daet, CamNorte, a finalist in 2 national tournaments, and 6 T8 placements.

National Master Christian “The Titan” Perez of Robson-Marbel climbed to 4th place with 248 points after his back-to-back Open Singles championships in the Governors Cup and the Mayors Open Singles of the 200K Manny Pacquiao Digos Open. So far, Perez has won 3 national titles this year and 3 T4 finishes. After his wife gave birth to their 2nd child in April we are looking forward for Christian to be playing in more ranking tournaments the rest of the year.

Donjem Dimaculangan of Team 9-Over, Lucena City came from nowhere to land in 5th place with 212 points. Donjem won the Open Singles of the 150K Balamban Festival in Santiago City, Isabela and 250K Summer Dartfest, followed by the 2nd place in the Araw ng Makati and the Bantayog Festival, all in the 2nd Q. Donjem now guns for his 3rd national open singles to earn the National Masters title

Alexis Toylo of TOP Gunner is close in 6th place with 210 points, with 2 national titles from the Panagbenga Open and the Mayor Zubiri Open in Malaybalay, Bukidnon. He also came 2nd in the Governor Mercado Cup in Maasin City, Southern Leyte, where he was on track to be the 15th National Master leading Prussian Arceño 3-1 in the finals of the Open Singles. Unfortunately, his time to be a National Master was put on hold after Arceño won 3 straight legs.

We look forward and hope that there will be less cancellations and postponements of tournaments in Mindanao due to curfew brought about by Martial Law. The 200K Marbel Open and the 150K Araw ng Pagadian were unfortunately cancelled. The 25K Darter of the Year 2017 is far from over. Bigger ranking points are in the horizon with the following 200K tournaments: the Kadayawan Festival in August, Davao City, the Rotary International Open at the PCA in September, and for the first time the Dumaguete Open in November. Also in the 3rd and 4th quarters are the Free-Registration Darterong Pinoy and the 650K Casino Filipino, with more tournaments to be scheduled.

Please check our website: Darter of the Year 2nd Quarter 2017 for more details.