TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines


Share on Facebook
Dolreich “DJ” Tongcopanon Jr. is the runaway winner of the P25,000 Chris Sports Darter of the Year Award after winning the P100K Inugyunay Festival, the last ranking tournament for 2015, in Tacurong, Sultan Kudarat, last December 20, 2015. DJ handily won over National Master Jojo Barellano 4-1 in the finals, after Barellano edged National Master Ian Perez 4-3 in the top 4. En route to the finals, DJ avenged his loss in the Darterong Pinoy to Regional Master Iking Gumanid with a winning score of 4-0.   

DJ Tongcopanon deserved to be the Chris Sports Darter of the Year after winning the most number of Open Singles Championships - 5 ranking tournaments in 2015. The first win came in April 2015, at the 150K Daragang Magayon-Bicol Darts Challenge over Elmer Maranan.  In June, 2015 DJ handily won the 100K Gov. Mercado Cup in Maasin, Southern Leyte over Bhoy Ulang.  He then won the P50K Regional Emong’s Cup in October in preparation and his third national singles championship in the Resorts World Manila 300K Dart Attack over Prussian Arceño 5-2.  By winning his 3rd National Tournament of P100K and over, DJ became the 12th National Master since 2005.

Tongcopanon is 20 years old, the youngest Darter of the Year Awardee and National Master.  He is a product of the NDFP Youth Singles championships since playing at the age of 16.  Hopefully, he gains international exposure and follow the great tradition of our international dart icons.