TUSOK BALITA ONLINE - A Publication of the National Darts Federation of the Philippines


Updated June 19, 2023

The Philippine darting community celebrates with pride the Top 16 achievement of Lourence Ilagan and Christian Perez at the recently-concluded My Diesel Claim World Cup of Darts from June 15th to 18th in Frankfurt, Germany. This is the second time that the Philippines has advanced from the first round of eliminations and march into the Top 16 of the prestigious world team event of the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC).

Veteran Filipino darters Christian Perez and Lourence Ilagan impressed the darting community after the duo waylaid Paul Lim and Harith Lim of Singapore, 4-1 on their first game in 1st round of eliminations of the event that drew 40 countries.

Ilagan and Perez played an average of 82.70 against 78.38 of the Lim tandem. Ilagan dominated scoring production with 3 180s and a scoring average of 116.8. Meanwhile, Perez checked out 3 of the 4 matches, with 52 as the highest checkout.

Later that same day, Ilagan and Perez overpowered 13th-seeded Czech Republic of Adam Gawlas (World Rank #49) and Karel Sedláček (World Rank #99), 4-1 and sealed their spot in the playoff round.

The Filipino duo averaged 86.03 versus the Czech rivals’ 75.00. Ilagan delivered the numbers with a scoring average of 101.2 while Perez, fresh from an impressive quarterfinal finish in the PDC Players Championship in Hildesheim, checked out all four matches with 86 as his highest checkout that he closed with a double bull.

In the Top 16 playoffs, Ilagan and Perez faced Scotland’s Peter Wright (World Rank #2) and Gary Anderson (World Rank #22), both former World Champions. The Filipinos delivered an impressive opening performance to lead by 2, but later fell short as the Scots gained momentum to win 8-5.

Scotland played an average of 89.01 while the Philippines came close with 87.91. The team for former world champions further advanced to the Finals, beating France in the quarter-finals and Germany in the Semi-finals. Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton of Wales emerged as champions of the World Cup of Darts 2023.

The National Darts Federation of the Philippines extends its warmest congratulations to Lourence Ilagan and Christian Perez for a truly impressive and world-class performance the at the World Cup of Darts. We also give our generous thanks to their sponsors: DOT, Tero Flights, and One80 for Ilagan, and Robson Sportscraft for Perez; and most especially to their families and loved ones for their untiring support and sacrifices.

May the Filipino darting community draw inspiration from this milestone and continue to support and rally for fellow-Filipino darters in the international darting arena. In darts, we unite!
NDFP Affiliation Form